### OFFICERS 2016-2018

DEAN C. LOGAN PRESIDENT Los Angeles County SUSAN M. RANOCHAK VICE PRESIDENT Mendocino County JOE HOLLAND TREASURER Santa Barbara County

BRANDI L. ORTH SECRETARY Fresno County

#### BOARD OF DIRECTORS APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County JOE CANCIAMILLA Contra Costa County KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County MARK LUNN Ventura County RYAN RONCO Placer County

MICHAEL SCARPELLO San Bernardino County MICHAEL VU San Diego County

DAWN ABRAHAMSON\* Vallejo City Clerk \* non-voting member

ADVISORY COUNCIL:

REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County GAIL L. PELLERIN Santa Cruz County CATHY DARLING ALLEN Shasta County NEAL KELLEY

Orange County

### ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Nothern Area Lassen County REBECCA SPENCER Southern Area Riverside County DONNA JOHNSTON Mother Lode Area Sutter County TOMMY GONG Central Area San Luis Obispo County CLAUDIO VALENZUELA Bay Area Monterey County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES \*\*voting member

## CLERK OF THE BOARD:

JOHN MCKIBBEN\*\* Los Angeles County

### COUNTY CLERK:

DONNA ALLRED\*\* Sacramento County

VICTORIA RODRIGUEZ Riverside County

### ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE\*\* Sacramento County TRICIA WEBBER Santa Cruz County



# CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

DEAN C. LOGAN, PRESIDENT Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk 12400 Imperial Highway, Suite 7001, Norwalk, CA 90650 (562) 462-2716 – Fax (562) 929-4790 E-Mail: <u>DLogan@rrcc.lacounty.gov</u> CACEO website: www.caceo58.org

March 23, 2017

Senator Henry Stern State Capitol Building, Room 3070 Sacramento, CA 95814

Dear Senator Stern:

The California Association of Clerks and Election Officials Elections Legislative Committee is pleased to support **SB 286**, your proposal relating to vote by mail voters voting at polling places.

Current law indicates that a voter who is unable to surrender their vote by mail ballot at the polling place must vote a provisional ballot. This results in a large number of provisional ballots that must be researched during the canvass period to determine if the voter had already returned their ballot. SB 286 will offer the option for counties to allow these voters to vote non-provisional ballots at the polls if the precinct officers are able to determine a ballot has not already been returned.

By allowing counties to provide this service will reduce the number of provisional ballots being issued and reviewed, which will allow counties to re-allocate their resources to other canvass activities.

If you or your staff has any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at <u>tricia.webber@santacruzcounty.org</u> or (831) 454-2409, or Jill LaVine, Sacramento County Registrar of Voters at <u>lavinej@saccounty.net</u> or (916) 875-6060.

Respectfully,

Siciallebber

Tricia Webber

Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

cc: Darren Chesin, Chief Consultant, Senate Committee on Elections and Constitutional Amendments Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc. Nick Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc. Silvio Ferrari, Sacramento Advocates, Inc. Jill LaVine, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee